Image

“It Would Taste Better With Bacon”

I love to cook, and I love to find recipes and tweak them to make them my own. I almost NEVER follow a recipe word for word. This week has been particularly cold, and I wanted to make some soup. I searched through my Pinterest board to find the perfect soup. I needed something, 1. quick because I have a 7 week old and 2. healthy because I NEED to lose this baby weight.  I stumbled upon this recipe for white bean soup with broccoli.

brocs

I followed the recipe pretty closely but made a few changes to boost the flavor! The recipe calls for steaming the broccoli, however, I wanted to add a bit more flavor so I roasted it instead.  In addition, I used organic low sodium chicken broth instead of vegetable, and for some extra flavor I added a can of Urbani White Truffles and Mushrooms. I also found that my immersion blender worked much better than blending it in batches. My husband is a meat and potatoes kinda guy and he said “This soup tastes gourmet. Like you can get it in a restaurant or something! I would add bacon though.”  For one I think it’s funny that my husband used the word ‘Gourmet’. Of course he would add bacon! Secondly, I do have to agree bacon would be awesome in the soup. Bacon however, isn’t awesome for my ass.

white bean soup

 

Leave a Reply

