Image

A quest to be better & Pumpkin Muffins!

I cannot believe the summer has flown by as quickly as it did. As far as summers go, I think I had a pretty good one. B and I stayed in most days because of the oppressive heat, but I found that a trip to Target or the craft store really helped to cure our cabin fever.It would have been nice to have made some new friends or to have gone in the pool more but it just didn’t happen. Quite frankly, I blame myself for that. I am on a new ‘kick’ though to focus on being a better mother, wife, and blogger. I want to do more than just get through the day, and that is why I started this blog to begin with.  It’s hard being a stay at home mom sometimes. I feel like I am back in high school all over again. Many times I will start talking to a woman, and find that we really have nothing more in common than the fact that we are mothers. As much as I love talking about my son, there surely has to be more to talk about than sleep schedules, solid foods, diaper brand & milestones right? Even if we use that as an opener, the conversation quickly dwindles because I have ‘alternative’ parenting ideals. Here is how a typical conversation will go:

Mom: Oh how old is your LO? Is he on solids yet?

Me: Almost 9 months. Yes. we just started. He actually had quinoa and salmon last night!

Mom: Oh? Salmon? Have you tried rice cereal? I put my LO on it at 4 months.

Me: No. We didn’t. He liked chunks of food right off the bat. I started with Avocado.

Mom: Oh. That’s nice. What brand of diapers do you use?

Me: Cloth actually.

Mom: You are brave! I think that is gross! What do you do with the poop?

Me: spray it off, and wash. So how is your LO sleeping?

Mom: Good. we just started sleeping through the night.

Me: Mine was too, but now he is getting up to eat. Must be a growth spurt.

Mom: I don’t let my child manipulate me like that. Put rice cereal in his bottle before bed.

Me: Huh. I’ll try that (in my head THAT IS SOOOO DANGEROUS and UNHEALTHY!)

anyway it was nice meeting you. Bye.

***UPDATE 8/11/2014 the outlined conversation above made me sound like a pretentious ‘B’. At the time,  I was trying to be someone that I wasn’t, and was basically trying to find myself as a mother. Bishop eats chicken nuggets slathered in ketchup several times a week. In fact he calls them ‘ketchup’ and is currently wearing pampers. We still cloth diaper, but not full time. I apologize for being a judgmental A-hole. That is all.***

I have yet to find someone that I click with, and it’s hard. I either have conversations like the one above, or get edged out by a group of snobby cliquey moms. I think because I have an alternative parenting style I am either seen as ‘weird’ or even ‘holier than thou’ which I am neither. I am middle of the road kind of a gal who does her research, and that is all.

So, I’ve used this excuse all summer that I don’t click with anyone, and basically spent the summer alone. My son LOVES playing with other kids, so I vow here and now to continue my quest to be a better mother by going to a mother’s group tomorrow. In this day and age, there really is no excuse. Facebook and Meetup.com have provided platforms for moms to get together, share information, and arrange playdates. I am going to do this. I will hopefully find someone who wants to talk about Miley Cyrus instead of CIO, someone who will want to come over after the baby is in bed to watch a chic flick and drink wine, someone who will not pretend to be all knowing and perfect, and someone who will have an awesome kid to be friends with my little B. I know she is out there this new friend of mine. I just have to put myself out there to find her.

Oh and she must love pumpkin spice lattes!! I am soo excited that they are back on the menu. I actually LOVE pumpkin season, and decided to make these little beauties the other day. Feld like fall, even in the 86 degree weather.

Pumpkin Muffins

1 12 oz can organic pure pumpkin puree

2 eggs

½ cup coconut oil

¼ cup black strap molasses

3 Tbl raw honey

½ cup  organic palm sugar

½ cup flax seed meal

½ cup all-purpose flour

1 cup organic quick oats (run through food processor)

1 cup whole wheat flour

3 tsp brewer’s Yeast

1 tsp. Cinnamon

1 tsp. Nutmeg

2 tsp Cardamom

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Baking Powder

¼ tsp salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350.

  2. Line 18 slots in 2 muffin pans (fill the empty slots ¼ of the way with water. This will prevent the tin from bending in the oven).

  3. Add all the wet ingredients together blend on medium for 1 min.

  4. Add the dry to the wet in two batches blending until well mixed.

  5. Fill the cups ¾ of the way.

  6. Bake 15-20 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

